The Milwaukee Art Museum’s annual exhibition of works and scholastic competition involving Wisconsin students in grades 7-12 includes 31 students from Waukesha schools.

According to a press release, the 2017 Scholastic Art Awards Wisconsin Exhibition includes 372 individual artworks created by students from more than 100 schools across the state. Gold and Silver Key winning pieces are on display in the museum’s Schroeder Galleria. The winners were selected from 3,479 total submissions.

The exhibit, which opened Feb. 4, will run through March 19.

The Scholastic Art Awards Wisconsin Exhibition and competition is the regional section of The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards National Program, conducted by the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers Inc.

In awards ceremonies on Feb. 11, 624 student artists were awarded 153 individual Gold Keys (which forwards them on to the National Scholastic Art Awards Competition), 219 Silver Keys (which allows for statewide recognition of their work), and 558 honorable mentions.

From Waukesha South High School, winners included Nolan Barber, Saudiel Benitez, Amber Castagna, Darya Cuske, Irais Flatcher, Kristin Gessay, Marianna Glatzel, Trever Hoelzer, Tyler Koziol, Annabella Lee, Jennifer Martinez, Hannah Paukner, Mikayla Pavlekovich, Jessica Prater, Dru Schurrer, Kira Snapp, Lauren Szolyga, Tiana Willis and Brandy Zamber.

From Waukesha West High School, winners included Amber Boesel, Ryan Davis, Taylor DeGroot, Jayden Ellsworth, Lauren Hoesly, Sarah Pipkin, Natalie Schmeichel, Holly Standarski, Angela Stepanski, Janaka Subotnik and Samantha Zimmer.

From Waukesha Engineering Prep, winners included Frances Dent.

“It is a pleasure to present the works of these talented young artists and to be a part of their experience in the Scholastic Art Awards,” said Brigid Globensky, Barbara Brown Lee senior curator of education and programs at the Milwaukee Art Museum. “This generation of artists provides visitors an exhibition of such depth and range; the future looks bright for arts in Wisconsin.”

The Milwaukee Art Museum has hosted the Scholastic Art Awards for the Wisconsin region for more than 40 years. A number of artists represented in the Museum’s Collection were Scholastic Award recipients, including Andy Warhol, Richard Avedon, Harry Bertoia, Nancy Burkert, Red Grooms, Richard Haas, Robert Indiana, David Lenz, Philip Pearlstein, David Salle, Cy Twombly, Tom Uttech and John Wilde.

The Scholastic Art Awards are presented by the Milwaukee Art Museum’s Friends of Art and an anonymous donor. Additional support is provided by the Heller Family in memory of their parents, James K. and Avis M. Heller; James and Carol Wiensch; Vanguard Computers Inc.; and CompURent.

Read or Share this story: http://www.waukeshanow.com/story/news/education/2017/02/07/waukesha-student-artists-featured-annual-milwaukee-art-museum-exhibition/97590286/