A write-in candidate for the Waukesha School Board poses the only challenge to several local seats up for election this spring, but city residents will get to have their say in county- and state-wide races as well.

Here's a look at what voters can expect to see on their ballots for the April 4 election. In-person early voting is ongoing from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. through March 30 at Waukesha City Hall, 201 Delafield St. Voters are required to present a photo ID to cast their ballots.

City races

Barring challenges from write-in candidates, Cassie Rodriguez and Dean Lemke – two newcomers to the city's common council – will fill the seats in aldermanic Districts 3 and 13, which will be vacated, respectively, by Chris Hernandez and Andy Reiland. Hernandez and Reiland decided earlier this year not to run for re-election.

The other candidates running unopposed for two-year terms are Aldermen Eric Payne in District 2, Adam Jankowski in District 6, Daniel Manion in District 7 and Steve Johnson in District 10.

Residents who do not live in those districts will not see those races on their ballots. However, city residents will get to cast votes in a contested four-person race for three school board seats.

Shawn Rundblade recently announced that he will run as a write-in candidate against current School Board President Joe Como and board members Barbara Brzenk and Karin Rajnicek. Board members serve three-year terms.

County races

A trio of Waukesha County Circuit Court judges are running uncontested for six-year terms. They are Ralph Ramirez, Lloyd V. Carter and William Domina.

State races

Finally, voters will determine one contested and one uncontested race for state positions.

State Superintendent Tony Evers will defend his seat against Lowell Holtz. The winner will serve a four-term as Wisconsin's top education official.

Justice Annette Ziegler is running unopposed for her seat on the state Supreme Court. Justices serve 10-year terms.

Read or Share this story: