Waukesha South senior Keaton Stremick closed the season with a couple strong accolades, including a first-team All Conference nod in the Classic 8 and a near miss in the annual WIAA 3-Point Challenge.

Stremick had the best round of the competition when he canned 22 three-pointers in the opening round of the showcase, held March 18 before the state-championship contests at the Kohl Center in Madison. He was one of four advancing to the semifinals, where his 18 makes earned him a spot in the two-man finals.

Austin Martin of Random Lake notched 18 makes in the final round, one more than Stremick for the championship.

Stremick qualified for the event by hitting 70 of 130 three-pointers during the season, good for 53.8 percent -- tied for the best mark among qualifiers. Top-two shooting percentages in each of the five divisions were invited to compete.

The Classic 8 yielded a state finalist for the second year in a row and third time in five years as Arrowhead reached the Division 1 title game, falling to three-time state champion Stevens Point. Stremick was joined on the first team by Waukesha North junior forward Will McDonald. Trevell Cunningham of Arrowhead was named the league's Player of the Year.

Classic 8 boys 

First team -- Trevell Cunningham, sr., Arrowhead; Ben Seefeld, sr., Arrowhead; AJ Makinent, soph., Muskego; Stu Vent, soph., Muskego; Keaton Stremick, sr., Waukesha South; Will McDonald, jr., Waukesha North; Brandon Hau, sr., Mukwonago

Second team -- Luke Horozewski, sr, Muskego; Michael Payant, jr., Kettle Moraine; Alec Hamilton, sr., Arrowhead; Austin Young, sr., Catholic Memorial; Rich Byhre, soph., Catholic Memorial; Alex Gehl, sr., Mukwonago

Honorable mention -- Marko Matejic, sr., Arrowhead; Lucas Morris, sr., Catholic Memorial; Nick Dahmen, sr., Kettle Moraine; Ben Psicihulis, sr., Kettle Moraine; Ben Wellenstein, jr., Kettle Moraine; Gabe Cizauskas, sr., Mukwonago; Nate Jendusa, sr., Mukwonago; Will Herald, sr., Muskego; Ben Schaefer, sr., Muskego; Taylor Anderson, sr., WAukesha North; Grayson Cooley, jr., Waukesha South; Rocky Martinez, soph., Waukesha West; Finley Schumacher, jr., Waukesha West; Tahjay Blackmon, sr., Waukesha West

Busalacchi earns coaching honor

Waukesha West's Mark Busalacchi was named Coach of the Year in the Classic 8 after leading his rebuilt roster to 8-6 in the Classic 8 (fourth place) and 11-12 overall.

Mukwonago sophomore Grace Beyer was named the league's Player of the Year, and league champion Arrowhead placed three on the first team.

West senior Calli Delsman of West was the lone first-team selection from Waukesha.

Classic 8 girls

First team -- Grace Beyer, soph., Mukwonago; Liz Erdmann, sr., Arrowhead; Grace Gilmore, sr., Arrowhead; Caitlyn Harper, jr., Arrowhead; Abby Guidinger, sr., Kettle Moraine; Maddy Harrison, jr., Muskego; Calli Delsman, sr., Waukesha West

Second team -- Megan Peterson, jr., Arrowhead; Karissa Hucke, jr., Arrowhead; Natalie Andersen, soph., Mukwonago; Angie Cera, soph., Mukwonago; Sabrina Andringa, jr., Waukesha South; Megan Weise, sr., Waukesha West

Honorable mention -- Erin Wright, sr., Catholic Memorial; Kathleen Hirsch, jr., Catholic Memorial; Katie Evans, jr., Catholic Memorial; Alyssa Pausha, sr., Kettle Moraine; Grace Weber, sr., Kettle Moraine; Emma Vodenlich, sr., Kettle Moraine; Dru Henning, fr., Mukwonago; Nikki Huber, sr., Mukwonago; Leah Bolskar, sr., Muskego; Hannah Kath, sr., Muskego; Andrea Mlachnik, sr., Muskego; Sarah Anderson, jr., Muskego; Camryn Szolyga, sr., Waukesha North; Megan Johnson, jr., Waukesha North; Margaret Johnson, sr., Waukesha South; Emma Kelliher, jr., Waukesha South; Lauren Schultz, jr., Waukesha West

Malcolmson named Classic 8 POY

Ian Malcolmson, who led Waukesha to the state-championship game and was named Wisconsin's Mr. Hockey, was naturally named the Classic 8 Player of the Year.

Classic 8 hockey

First team
POY: Ian Malcolmson, sr., Waukesha
F: Jaxson Carr, jr., Arrowhead; Eric Sinson, jr., CMH/Brookfield; Nick Elsen, sr., Kenosha; Nick Epperson, sr., University School
D: Elijah Tormala, sr., Arrowhead; Dylan Cox, sr., Arrowhead
G: Peter Genatempo, jr., Arrowhead

Waukesha second team
F: Chad Larsen, soph.
D: Kevin Broda, jr.
G: Garrett Larsen, soph.

Waukesha honorable mention
F: Trenton Tucker, soph.; Joey Schindler, sr. (CMH/Brookfield)

Gymnasts named first team

Several Waukesha gymnasts were named first-team All Conference in the Classic 8/Southeast.

Amanda Duncan (bars), Georgia Williams (beam), Erin Wagner (beam) and Brooke Lytle (floor) all earned the nod in their respective events.

Second-team choices included Hunter Kiehl and Anna Mentsch in beam and Sarah Pascavis on the floor.

In the all-arond, first team choices were the Kenosha trio of Samantha Weyker, Molly O'Boyle and Angelina Riley, as well as Mukwonago/KM duo Maddy Krumenacher and Kelsee Koresch.